State Teaching Awards

The Center for Teaching and Learning collaborates with faculty to develop robust, competitive dossiers for the USG Board of Regents' Teaching Excellence Awards. For more information about the awards and our process, please contact Dr. Megan Mittelstadt.  UGA's internal deadline for submission of preliminary materials for the 2017 cycle is Monday, November 6, 2017 at 5:00 p.m.  See the full announcement regarding dates and processes.

Regents’ Teaching Excellence Awards for Online Teaching

Recipients of this USG award will be those faculty members who “are strongly committed to quality online teaching and learning, as evidenced by teaching and scholarly activities designed to advance the quality of online teaching and learning.”  To be eligible for the Online Award, current full-time members of the teaching faculty and teaching academic staff must teach at least a minimum of 12 credit hours of fully online instruction at one of the USG institutions across the fall, spring, and summer semesters. Fully online instruction for this award is defined as “95% or more of the course must be delivered fully online.” Each institution is invited to submit one nomination for the award and should determine campus nomination procedures.

For more information:

Felton Jenkins, Jr. Hall of Fame Faculty Awards

Administered by the USG Office of Academic Affairs, these USG system-wide awards recognize both individual faculty/staff and departments/programs for a strong commitment to teaching and student success. One faculty/staff award will be given for each sector (research universities, regional and state universities, two-year and state colleges), for a total of three faculty awards. One department/program award will be given for the System; sector will not be a consideration for this award. 

For more information:

Regents’ Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Awards

The USG Office of Academic Affairs invites nominations for Regents’ Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SOTL) Awards. Initiated by Boyer’s Scholarship Reconsidered (1990), and exemplified by the Carnegie Academy for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning, the scholarship of teaching and learning encourages and supports the work of faculty members whose scholarship focuses on the instructional mission of the institution. Two faculty/staff awards will be given; sector will not be a consideration for these awards. We hope that the award will continue to foster and encourage the scholarship of teaching and learning at USG institutions.

For more information: