New Faculty Orientation

UGA's New Faculty Orientation will take place on Wednesday, August 2, 2017, at The University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel on the UGA Campus (1197 S. Lumpkin St, Athens, GA 30605).  Please send any questions you may have about this event to Dr. Meg Mittelstadt, Assistant Director for Faculty Development and Recognition, at

Below is the 2017 Orientation's Program:


8:00 - 8:30 Registration, Coffee, & Continental Breakfast (Hill Atrium)
8:30 - 8:35 Opening Remarks (Masters Hall)
  • Sarah Covert, Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs
8:35 - 8:45 Welcome (Masters Hall)
  • Jere W. Morehead, President
8:45 - 9:15 Building for Success at UGA (Masters Hall)
  • Pamela S. Whitten, Provost
9:15 - 10:15

UGA's Tripartite Mission (Masters Hall)

  • Rahul Shrivastav, Vice President for Instruction
  • David Lee, Vice President for Research
  • Laura Meadows, Interim Vice President for Public Service and Outreach
  • Michele Howard, Associate Vice President for Student Affairs
10:15 - 10:30

Navigating UGA, Part I: UGA Traditions, Legends, and Lingo (Masters Hall)

  • Eric Johnson, Director, UGA Visitors Center
10:30 - 10:35

Introduction to the Breakout Sessions (Masters Hall)

  • Laura Crawley, Assistant Vice President for Academic Affairs and Interim Director, Center for Teaching and Learning


10:35 - 10:50

Morning Break (Hill Atrium)


10:50 - 12:30

 Navigating UGA (Part 2): Notable Faculty Roles (Select two, 45 min each)

Option 1: Teaching (Room K)

  • Angela Birkes-Grier, Director for the Peach State Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation
  • Jeb Byers, Josiah Meigs Distinguished Teaching Professor and Associate Dean, Odum School of Ecology
  • Sherry Clouser, Assistant Director for Learning Technologies, Center for Teaching and Learning

Option 2: Research and Creative Work (Room L)

  • Jody Clay-Warner, Josiah Meigs Distinguished Teaching Professor, Department of Sociology
  • Mark Jackwood, J.R. Glisson Professor of Avian Medicine, College of Veterinary Medicine
  • Jean Martin-Williams, Josiah Meigs Distinguished Teaching Professor, Hugh Hodgson School of Music, and Associate Dean in the Franklin College

Option 3: Student Affairs (Room Q)

  • Eric Atkinson, Associate Vice President for Student Affairs
  • Bill McDonald, Dean of Students
  • Matt Waller, Assistant to the Vice President for Student Affairs

Option 4: Public Service and Outreach (Room R)

  • Alejandra Calva, Community Relations Manager, Latin American & Caribbean Studies Institute PORTAL
  • Robert Gordon, Director, Archway Partnership
  • Tina Harris, Josiah Meigs Distinguished Teaching Professor, Department of Communication Studies
  • Theresa Wright, Public Service Associate, Carl Vinson Institute of Government
12:30 - 1:45 Navigating UGA (Part 3): Lunch and Resource Fair (Mahler Hall)
1:45 - 2:30    

Navigating UGA (Part 4): Preparing for Success (select one)

Option 1: Tenure Track (Room K)

•  Sarah Covert, Associate Provost
•  Denise Spangler, Associate Dean / Professor, College of Education
•  William Kisaalita, Professor, College of Engineering

Option 2: Non-tenure Track Instructional (Room L)

•  Melissa Landers-Potts, Senior Lecturer, Human Development and Family Science
•  Hillary Tanner, Lecturer, Engineering
•  John Weatherford, Lecturer, New Media Institute

Option 3: Non-tenure Track Non-instructional (Room Q)

•  Paul Brooks, Associate Vice President for Public Service & Outreach
•  Alice Hunt, Assistant Research Scientist, Center for Applied Isotope Studies

  • Emily Luken, Librarian, Collections Development, UGA Libraries

•  Maritza Soto Keen, Senior Public Service Associate, Fanning Institute

Option 4: Senior Tenure Track and/or Tenured (Room R)

•  Suzanne Barbour, Dean of the Graduate School
•  Susanna Calvert, Director of Programming  in Faculty Affairs

2:45 - 3:30


Navigating UGA (Part 5):  Top Ten Ways to Ensure Smooth Sailing (Masters Hall)

3:30 - 4:00

Feeling at Home - Tips from UGA Faculty Members (Masters Hall)

  • Gary Green, Professor, Warnell School of Forestry
  • Audrey Haynes, Meigs Professor of Political Science

Concluding Remarks (Masters Hall)

4:00 - 5:30

Reception (Dogwood Hall)

  • Remarks from President Morehead at 4:15 p.m.