Sarah Moss Fellowship

Announcement of Sarah H. Moss Fellowship 2018 -2019

Deadline for applications: 5:00 p.m. - Friday, March 30, 2018

Application form: Sarah H. Moss Fellowship Application Form (PDF)

Letters of recommendation: Letters can be emailed to CTL Director and Chair of the Sarah H. Moss Selection Committee Meg Mittelstadt,

Sarah H. Moss Fellowships for faculty of the University of Georgia in Athens are available beginning with the summer semester. The fellowships, administered by CTL since 1987, provide funds for travel and related expenses for faculty pursuing advanced study in institutions of higher learning abroad and in the United States. Expenses of family members accompanying married faculty are also covered. The purpose of these fellowships, funded through a bequest from the estate of Sarah H. Moss, is to provide young University of Georgia faculty a "broad outlook and acquaintance with conditions and standards in other parts of the world. . . ." Funding is available in amounts of up to $10,000 and may include subsistence for family members. The award may be made twice. Additional support funds from the nominee's department are desirable. For further information, please contact Dr. Meg Mittelstadt,

Requirements for Applicants

Procedure for Application

Eight complete copies of all application materials are due in CTL by  March 30, 2018.  Applicants are encouraged to consult with respective department heads and senior faculty members in preparing proposals to be submitted to the Moss Committee. The Committee reviewing applications for Sarah H. Moss Fellowships encourages candidates to apply for other fellowships before or at the same time they are applying for Sarah H. Moss Fellowships. (e.g., NATO, NIH Senior, and Guggenheim). All applicants are reviewed by the Sarah H. Moss Fellowship Committee.

Method of Selection

Applicants are reviewed in the spring of each year by a committee composed of the following: the Dean of the College of Education, the Dean of the Graduate School, the Dean of the School of Law, the Dean of the College of Business, the Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, a representative of the Office of the Vice President for Academic Affairs, and the President of the UGA Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa. In all phases of the selection process, the applicants will be judged on the basis of stated criteria.

Criteria for Selection

Applications will be evaluated using the following criteria:
Preference will be given to faculty in early stages of their careers.

Announcement of the Awards

Recipients of Sarah H. Moss Fellowships will be notified in writing.

NOTE: Every effort will be made for Fellowship funds to be available for reimbursement (via direct deposit) by August 2018 for 2018-2019 Fellows. However, it is possible that reimbursements may not be disbursed by the fund until the midway point of the funding cycle, as late as December 2018.